Thu
Thu
Thu
Thu

George

Thursday°C
Thu
Thu
Thu
Thu

Wilderness

Thursday°C
Thu
Thu
Thu
Thu

Uniondale

Thursday°C
Thu
Thu
Thu
Thu

Haarlem

Thursday°C

Important numbers

Electricity044 874 3917
Water / Sanitation044 801 9262/9266
Fire 044 801 6311
Refuse Removal044 802 2900
Traffic / Licence044 878 2400 / 044 801 9315
Law Enforcement044 801 6350
GO GEORGE Call Centre0800 044 044
George Municipality Switchboard044 801 9111
Hide -
Published: 15 Nov 2017Title: Weekly Water Status 17 January 2018Status: Rainfall for the Week: 0 mm; Dam level: 76.36 %; Demand: 30.45 Ml; Target: 22 Ml;
1
Home 1Contact usShow

Weather

George
Thursday°C
Thu
Thu
Thu
Thu

Weather

Wilderness
Thursday°C
Thu
Thu
Thu
Thu

Weather

Uniondale
Thursday°C
Thu
Thu
Thu
Thu

Weather

Haarlem
Thursday°C
Thu
Thu
Thu
Thu

Important numbers

Electricity 044 874 3917
Water / Sanitation 044 801 9262/9266
Fire 044 801 6311
Refuse Removal 044 802 2900
Traffic / Licence 044 878 2400 / 044 801 9315
Law Enforcement 044 801 6350
GO GEORGE Call Centre 0800 044 044
George Municipality Switchboard 044 801 9111

Planning and Development

Overview

Planning and Development consists of the following Departments: Building Control, Town Planning and a Property Section.

 

The Department Planning is comprised of Spatial Planning, Land Use Management, Building Control and Environmental Management and is committed to deliver planning outcomes that addresses the plight of the poor and broaden development objectives. The Mission of the department is to build a sustainable economic position that capitalises on the natural endowment of George and its broader locality, one that can be held in the face of competition, and creates opportunities for collaboration, large scale entrepreneurship and sustainable jobs.

Follow this link for access to the George Municipal Draft Zoning Scheme Map Viewer:

https://maps.george.gov.za/arcgis/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=6144ea65560f4b8d9d98ba2fa21760e5&shareWithWebMap=true

As a former participant in the  Build Environment Support Programme (BESP) the George Municipality has a credible SDF which forms the basis of each of the Local SDF’s applicable to the various suburbs and precincts. The SDF addresses the impact of the economic downturn, custodianship over biodiversity areas, development of infrastructure and rural development.  George Municipality recognises the important role it plays in ensuring an enabling environment for economic development as a means to sustainable livelihoods for its residents.  In our strive toward administrative excellence our operating procedures are reviewed and developed on a continuous basis with the aim of delivering a service that is effective, fair, transparent and compliant.

Queries relating to Directorate Planning and Development can be directed as follows:

Land Use Management:

Clinton Peterson: Chief Town Planner: +2744 801 9375, cpetersen@george.gov.za

Jeanne Fourie: Senior Town Planner (Even Erf Numbers): +2744 801 9138, jfourie@george.gov.za

Thys Calitz: Senior Town Planner (Odd Erf Numbers): +2744 801 9182, mccalitz@george.gov.za

Amour Stoffels: Town Planner: +2744 801 9436, adstoffels@george.gov.za

Lorraine Malangeni: Reception: +2744 801 9477, lxmalangeni@george.gov.za

Keith Meyer: Senior Land-Use Regulator (Tribunal): +2744 801 9435, kbmeyer@george.gov.za

Primrose Nako: Land-Use Regulator (Even Erf Numbers): +2744 801 9416, pnako@george.gov.za

Marisa Arries: Land-Use Regulator (Odd Erf Numbers): +2744 801 9473, marries@george.gov.za

Marina Welman: Land-Use Regulator (Farm Numbers): +2744 801 9171, mhwelman@george.gov.za

Spatial Planning, GIS and Environmental Management

Delia Power: Senior Spatial Planner: +2744 801 9476, dpower@george.gov.za

Corlize Bester: GIS: +2744 801 9117, cebester@george.gov.za

 

Building Control

Nico Koen: Manager Building Control: +2744 801 9176, njkoen@george.gov.za

Stephen Saunders: Building Control Officer: +2744 801 9194, sinsaunders@george.gov.za

Vasti Laws: Administrative Officer: +2744 801 9370, vnlaws@george.gov.za

 

Property Management

Donnie Gelderbloem: Head of Properties: +2744 801 9073, dmgelderbloem@george.gov.za

Josephine Arendse-Mpembe: Administrative Officer: +2744 801 9190, jaarendse@george.gov.za

Renè Hendricks: Administrative Officer: +2744 801 9472, rehendricks@george.gov.za

 

 

Last published 01 December 2017