Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Ten schools on board for George Municipality’s Poster Making Competition on Energy Sustainability

Ten schools, seven Primary Schools and three High Schools have confirmed the that they will be taking part in the George Municipality’s POSTER MAKING COMPETITION on the topic of Energy Sustainability. Primary and High Schools were invited to take part in the competition. The idea is for learners to reflect their understanding of Energy Sustainability in the poster.

Interns from the Electrotechnical Services Directorate, who are spearheading the campaign, delivered stationery for the purposes of making the posters to participating schools.
George Municipality is part of the Energy Efficiency and Demand Side Management (EEDSM) programme funded by the Department of Mineral Resources and Energy. The Municipality received grant funding of R4.5 million for the solar pv project at the George Municipality Main Building parking area and part of the requirements is to spend 1% of that grant funding on creating an energy awareness campaign.

The rules of the competition are as follows, the poster should be accompanied by a half page paragraph of text, explaining the message conveyed by the poster. The maximum number of learners allowed to take part in making the poster is 10 learners per school with the aid of 2 teachers. Primary Schools will be competing with each other, as will the High Schools, for fairness. A non-response from a school will be interpreted as not interested.

The selection criteria for the winning poster is as follows: (a) does the message conveyed show the learners understanding of the topic, and is it factually correct? (b) is the poster neat, organised and well presented?

The finished poster can be dropped off at the George Municipality Electrotechnical Services Office in 16 Brick Road, George Industria, 6529. Alternatively, the schools can call the judges on the following numbers 044 801 9255 / 044 801 9221 and the poster entries will be collected. Please ensure that each poster is clearly marked on the back with the name of the school, name of the teacher, name of the pupil, age of the pupil and grade as well as the contact details for the school. Unmarked posters will unfortunately not be judged.
The closing date for the competition is the 21st of May 2021.

George Municipality will retain the posters on completion of the competition. Enquiries about the competition can be send to Thabo Yiga on

The winning school will receive a prize to the value of R5 000, and the winning poster will be advertised in the George Herald Newspaper. All participating learners will receive goody bags as tokens of appreciation.

Sustainable energy is power which is able to be replenished within a human lifetime and so cause no long-term damage to the environment. Sustainable energy includes all renewable energy sources, such as hydroelectricity, biomass, geothermal, wind, wave, tidal and solar energies.
The schools taking part in the competition are: Mzoxolo Primary School, Parkdene High School, Hibernia Primary School,
Holy Primary School, Dellville Park Primary School, McKinley Reid High School,Thembalethu Primary School, Kretzenshoop Primary School and
Outeniqua Primary School and Outeniqua High School.

Caption Mari Coetzee, teacher at Outeniqua High School receives stationery from Mphielo Ramotsamai (Electrotechnical Services Directorate: George Municipality).