Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Candidate Nomination Wards – George By-Election – 19 July 2023

Independent Electoral Commission, Western Cape Provincial Office
Wards 16/20 & 27 – George By-Election – 19 July 2023
Candidate Nomination
Media Statement
The Electoral Commission (IEC), Western Cape will hold a By-Election on Wednesday, 19 July 2023 in Wards 16, 20 and 27 in the George municipality. While the By-Elections for all three Wards will be taking place on 19 July 2023 with special voting on 18 July, there are two Election Timetables, – one for Wards 16 and 20 and another one for Ward 27. Both Election Timetables can be viewed online at
The vacancies were caused by the resignation of the ward councillors.
The Candidate Nomination process for the By-Election in Ward 16 and 20 opened on Friday, 9 June 2023 and closes on Monday, 26 June 2023 at 17:00 (5 PM).
For Ward 27, Candidate Nomination opened on Wednesday, 14 June 2023 and closes on Tuesday, 27 June 2023 at 17:00 (5 PM).
To contest a ward seat the candidate must be a registered voter in the municipality. A candidate maybe nominated by a registered political party or stand as an independent. In the case of an independent he/she must be nominated by a voter from the ward and must have the written support of 50 registered voters of that ward. In addition, parties and independents must also complete and submit certain prescribed forms and pay the election deposit to contest.
For Manual submission and for Walk–in assistance prior to the closing date and time for candidate nominations, visit the IEC office at Unit 110, Bateleur Park, Cnr of Cradock and Cathedral street, George, or for information contact 044 873 2347 – at our local IEC office on weekdays during office hours.
Parties or independents who have registered with the IEC’s Online Candidate Nomination System (OCNS) can capture and manage nomination, documentation and make payments online. For more information on the OCNS, go to
The By-Election will take place at the following venues: WARD Voting District Name of voting station Address
New Dawn Park Community Hall CO. Kanfer & Protea Road,Pacaltsdorp 10404020 97200110 Heidedal Primary School Badnal Street ,Bochards, George 10404020 97200187 Youth For Christ Kids Stop 4 Thomas Street, Bochards, George
St Vincent Palotti Catholic Church
Beach Road ,Pacaltsdorp,George
VGK Pacaltsdorp
Amarillis Street , Pacaltsdorp,George
The Provincial Electoral Officer calls upon parties and independents who wish to contest to ensure that they understand and satisfy the legislative requirements to contest the By-elections, and that they submit all the required documentation and payment in advance of the closing date and time for nominations. Information on By Elections can also be found on our website
Issued by Mr Michael Hendrickse
Western Cape Provincial Electoral Officer
Electoral Commission
19 June 2023