Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer


Look no further than this video highlighting the best that George has to offer!

Kyknet’s Kwêla launched their popular ‘Dorp van die Jaar’ competition for 2024 on 3 March 2024, and it is time that the beautiful town of George took centre stage to show off its magnificent attributes. All towns in the 9 provinces of South Africa or Namibia with less than 500,000 residents, that have not been regional winners in the past three years qualify to be nominated.

What do you find special about George?  What are the special things that make you feel at home when you drive down the roads?  How many treasures are hidden in your community?  What are the jewels of your town that you are proud of?  Name George as your favourite town and you may win bragging rights for your entire town and its people!

John F. Kennedy’s inaugural address inspired citizens to see the importance of civic action and public service. His historic words, “Ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country,” challenged every American to contribute to the public good. This is your opportunity, George!  In this case, ‘Ask not what your town can do for you – ask what you can do for your town.’  (with apologies to JFK).  The ultimate winner of the Town of the Year will receive R1 million in advertising on Kyknet.  This will be an invaluable boost to promoting our town as a tourist destination in the domestic and Namibian market, so please send an SMS to the benefit of every resident in George.

Nominate George by SMSing GEORGE to 33157 (SMS’s cost R1,50).  Entries of nominations close on Friday, 15 March at noon.  You can name as many towns as many times as you wish, but only one town name per SMS. 

Three towns with the most nominations from every region will go through to the semi-finals that will be announced on 14 April, 21 April, and 28 April 2024, when the public will have a weeklong opportunity to vote for their favourite town of the three finalists.  Only 30 SMSs per person will be allowed in this round.  The town with the most votes will represent their region as a finalist. Kwêla will film an insert on each of the 9 finalists, and once all nine towns are announced, the public can vote for their favourite between 19:00 on 14 July and noon on 19 July 2024.

The winning town will be announced on 28 July 2024, on Kwêla and take home the coveted title of Town of the Year, and an incredible R1 million advertising contract with Kyknet.  Homebrew Films, the producers of Kwela will make a 45-second advertisement on the town that will be broadcast during Kyknet’ s advertising time.  In addition to this, a festive function will be held in the town to celebrate with music, food, and fun, showing off the winning team’s spirit.  Lottoland has another surprise in store for the winning town as they will also donate a cash prize of R1 million to the town to invest back into the town.  Go on, it will be worth it!

This project will take a mammoth effort from the town, but if everyone pitches in, we can make it happen!  Residents and businesses that wish to be more involved in the process can contact George Municipality’s Tourism Manager, Joan Shaw, on for more details.